Endorsements Souldier Fender Celestion Fender Custom Shop D'Addario D'Addario

The Campy Forum

Be polite and respectful. Don't sell stuff. No envy, no fear, no meanness.
FenderĀ® Custom Shop JIM CAMPILONGO '59 TELECASTER
  • Just received this guitar and think it is absolutely tiptop. I am very inexperienced at guitar and technical issues so I hope this is not a bonehead question. i notice that the "D" string has a jingle/ring to it when strummed; not present on any other strings, and this is reproducible both when plugged into amplifier or with no amplification. This is not a big deal and i am not an experienced musician; I know this is a top-loaded guitar and wonder if it is related to the way the string is set-up; any expertise or advice is greatly appreciated.
  • Most of my Fenders have a bit of a headstock ring like you describe. Does it stop if you lay your finger across the strings behind the nut?
  • Twang still present when i put finger along string behind nut; it seems to be present/accentuated when i strum the string pretty firmly; if i lightly strum it, it won't make the sound; it almost seems like a vibration. When i strum it along the soap dish area where Jim does behind the last pick-up, it does not happen as often; Thanks for info
  • Hey Hamate,
    dose the string buzz only when you play an open note or is it also happening when you play fretted notes on the "D" string? Does it happen when you fret certain notes, like 2nd, 5th and 11th ......or all the fretted notes?